Gallery Nucleus Presents « Endless Reflections »

25 septembre 2008 Non Par Comic Box

[ENGLISH] Gallery Nucleus says: In October of 1988, DC Comics released the first issue of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman. Literate and lyrical, Sandman was a radical departure into new territories of storytelling. Sandman’s extended tale of the King of Dreams and his dysfunctional family (Destiny, Death, Destruction, the twins Desire and Despair, and the tragic Delirium) went on for over five years and 76 issues plus additional short stories, mini-series, and graphic novels. Sandman proceeded to win every industry award possible, as well as being the first comic to win the World Fantasy Award for Best Short Fiction, a literary award.

Much has been said, written, discussed, dissected and otherwise examined regarding Neil Gaiman’s amazing storytelling. But, there’s the other component to Sandman’s unique and visionary success: The Artists. Sandman was illustrated by an extraordinary and diverse assembly of artists, attracting some of the industry’s (and indeed, well beyond the industry’s) most celebrated talent in the course of its run.

In October of 2008, Gallery Nucleus is pleased to present Endless Reflections, an observance upon 20 years of the art of Sandman. Endless Reflections celebrates the incredible scope of imagination that has been involved with and inspired by Neil Gaiman’s Sandman. Featuring new work from Sandman co-creator Mike Dringenberg, Sandman cover artist Dave McKean and series artists Jill Thompson and Marc Hempel. Legendary artists Barron Storey, John Watkiss, Phil Hale and Rick Berry. Emerging artists Mindy Lee, Nimit Malavia, Shelly Wan and Tessar Lo. Endless Reflections gathers these and many, many more in a prodigious display of talent and vision, commemorating the art of one of the most revered and extraordinary creations in literature.

Artists exhibiting are: Ashley Wood, Bryan Talbot, Barron Storey, Colleen Doran., Dave McKean, Emonic, Gary Amaro, Jason Shawn Alexander, Jill Thompson, Jon J Muth, John Watkiss, Leonardo Villasenor, Marc Hempel, Michael Page, Michael Zulli, Mike Allred, Mike Dringenberg, Mike Shine, Mindy Lee, Nate Frizzell, Nimit Malavia, Phil Hale, Richard Kirk, Rick Berry, Rodney Fuentebella, Shawn McManus, Shelly Wan, Ted McKeever, Tessar Lo, Wade Furlong

Exhibition currated by Ryan Graff, with special thanks to Allen Spiegel Fine Arts, Kasra Ghanbari and project:gallery.